Mark Opeskin

Theory

After studying music in his native Latvia and in Frankfurt (Prof. Helmut Rilling), Mark Opeskin has worked at the School of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main and at Dr. Hoch's Conservatory as a lecturer in music theory since 1981.

In 1992, he used a sequencer program to create files for teaching ear training, and he founded a "listening laboratory" at the School of Music and Performing Arts.

He also composes and has served as a jury member,  as well  as working  from 1990 to 2004 as the Choir Director of the 54 choirs in the Hochtaunus area, and he is a member of the Federal Music Committee of the Hessen Singers' Federation.

In 1984 and 1987, he was musical director of the International Latvian Music Festival in Münster and in 1990 he was the guest head conductor at the 20th Choral Song Festival in Latvia.

In his many years working with choirs, he has travelled to Australia, Canada, England and Sweden as a guest conductor. Mark Opeskin organises many concerts with his choirs, with programmes reflecting the breadth of choral music.

Head of Music Theory

E-mail: vorname.nachname@dr-hochs.de

Mark Opeskin

Theorie

Nach einem Musikstudium in seiner Heimat Lettland und in Frankfurt (Prof. Helmut Rilling) ist  Mark Opeskin seit 1980 an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt am Main und seit 1981 auch am Dr.Hoch's Konservatorium als Dozent für Musiktheorie tätig.

1992 erstellte er mit Hilfe eines Sequencerprogramms Dateien  seiner methodisch-didaktischen Inhalte im Fach Gehörbildung und errichtete ein „Hörlabor“ an der HfMDK.

Neben diesen Aufgaben, kompositorischen Arbeiten und der Tätigkeit als Juror  kümmerte er sich von 1990 bis 2004 als Kreis - Chorleiter um die musikalischen Belange der 54 im Hochtaunuskreis zusammengeschlossenen Chöre und ist Mitglied im Bundesmusikausschuss des Hessischen Sängerbundes.

1984 und 1987 war er musikalischer Leiter des  Internationalen Lettischen Musikfestivals in Münster und 1990 Gastchefdirigent beim 20. Chorliederfest Lettlands.

In seiner langjährigen Chorleitertätigkeit wurde er nach Australien, Kanada, England und Schweden als Gastdirigent verpflichtet. Mit seinen Chören veranstaltet Mark Opeskin zahlreiche Konzerte, deren Programme die Bandbreite der Chorliteratur widerspiegeln.

Fachbereichssprecher Musiktheorie

E-mail: vorname.nachname@dr-hochs.de